Spirit Drawing Workshop

In November I had originally alluded to the possibility of doing this. And now I’ve finally nailed down a date for the project in March 2016. I will be working with Owl’s Well, a local Saint Louis pagan/witch group with whom I have donated my time and effort in the past, to explore a hands-on experience with Spirit Drawing. Spirit Drawing or Automatic Drawing that was made popular with the rise of Spiritualism from the mid 19th to the early 20th centuries, in America and Europe, and consequently had a hand in inspiring the Surrealism, Cubism, Surrealist automatism, and the avant-garde artistic styles they inspired. We will be painting instead of drawing. It is likely to be a limited engagement, because I only have enough room to seat nine people. If this turns out to be a favorable event, I may consider doing others in the future.

I am very excited about this project, as it is something that I have noticed I have a penchant for, over my years of drawing. And as I mentioned in recent blogs it hasn’t been very long that I have been painting, though I do have a great deal of background experience with art, from traditional drawing and illustration to graphic design.

 

 

Leave a Reply

